Who Needs Guitars Anyway?

With apologies to Alice DeeJay.

Since you actually have to PLAY guitar, I don’t tend to do a lot of guitar-based music. There’s a lot of classic rock I like, though, that’s guitar-based. What to do, what to do…

What I do is mangle the hell out the songs, by sequencing them and playing back using all synthesizers. The cool thing about using MIDI is that even if you’re a four-thumbed noodler (and I am), you can record as quickly or slowly as you like, and then tweak them. It just takes me a long time. A really long time.

Been messing around with this for ages – like, years (really). Finally decided to do something with it. Still not 100% happy, but since I have some other songs I want to give the same treatment I figured I’d better just mix it down & move on,  because at some point the quest for perfection sucks all the fun out of it. And after all, it’s just a hobby, so it’s supposed to be fun.

Just Like Davy – White Room

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Just Like Davy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

